This release is deleted from the Motion Records catalogue and is no longer available.
This page is provided for information only.


Heroes Of Reggae in Dub: A must-have gem for reggae fans everywhere
- The Independent newspaper.

...the truth is that the music remains as timeless as the day it was minted, and those involved created something larger than their immediate selves. An achievement.
- New Musical Express.

It's difficult to believe these recordings are almost 25 years old, partly, you suspect, because everybody's still catching up with Tubby's musical vision..... this, the original chill-out music, has rarely been bettered.
- Mixmag.

Dub Vendor's Revive album of the month

Serious reissue business ! The long lost dubwise sessions dating back from 1975 mixed by the immortal King Tubby.... and featuring an unbelievable line up of musicians..... The result is a beautiful and diverse album of prime dubwise music of the highest order by turns joyful and funky, sombre and dark, with virtuoso performances by all concerned.

This album marks a truly historic event in the history of reggae music.
- Ray Hurford, Small Axe.

The historic first release of a 'lost' album by reggae legends, The Skatalites. Heroes of Reggae in Dub (The Skatalites Reunite at King Tubby's) was recorded in Kingston, Jamaica in 1975 by the core members of the Skatalites, musicians who were by then acknowledged as Jamaica's most talented and experienced in their respective fields. The album was mixed by the legendary King Tubby and is classic dub reggae without the ska beat for which the Skatalites were famous a few years earlier.



1. Give Thanks
2. Close To Jah
3. Zion I Dub
4. Herb Man Dub
5. Rocky Road |
6. Hero Of Dub
7. Dub Of Love
8. Heavens Gate
9. Every Day I Pray

Catalogue Number: FAST LP002 and FAST CD002

Heroes of Reggae in Dub was recorded in 1975. Written and Arranged by Lloyd Brevett and Tommy McCook. Recorded at the following studios: Aquarius, Joe Gibbs and Studio One, Kingston, Jamaica. Engineered by Errol T., Herman Chin Loy and Maurice Sullivan. All tracks mixed by King Tubby.

Roland Alphonso - Alto Sax; Leroy 'Horsemouth' Wallace - Drums; Benbow - Drums; Tommy McCook - Tenor Sax and Flute; Don D. Junior - Trombone; Ernest Ranglin - Guitar; Lloyd Brevett - Acoustic Bass, Percussion, Congas; Ras Michael - Congas and Percussion; Augustus Pablo - Keyboards and Clavinet; Jackie Mittoo - Keyboards; Featuring Tony Brevett - Vocals; Ruth Brevett - Vocals