Released 12th November 2001 on Motion Records
Black Foundation Dub was originally released in limited numbers in Jamaica on Gussie's Roots Sounds label and featured material produced by Gussie from the period 1973-78. This, the album's first widespread release is also its first appearance on CD. Classic dub reggae in style it features versions of many killer cuts by the likes of Delroy Wilson, Gregory Isaacs, Augustus Pablo, Dennis Brown, Bob Andy, KC White and Dawn Penn. All of the tracks were mixed at dub pioneer King Tubby's Studio most by Tubby himself, the remainder by Philip Smart.

For this release Gussie has added two bonus tracks for the LP and a third for the CD, an extended version of Augustus Pablo's classic No Entry. Widely respected author David Katz (writer of the recently published Lee Perry biography) provides the sleeve notes, which feature an interview with Gussie as well as a track by track analysis.



  1. Black foundation
  2. No, No, No
  3. Free Zone
  4. Big Or Small
  5. Creation Dub
  6. Rockers Time*
  7. Funny Feelings
  8. Murderer
  9. Late Arrival
  10. Rocking Vibration
  11. One Way
  12. Loving Pauper*
  13. No Entry (CD only)*

    * Bonus Tracks



Back to top

Click here to open our Audio Samples page